Residential propety

Boone County Commission denies rezoning for residential development

A roughly 145-acre residential development in Boone County will have to go back to the drawing board after the property was denied rezoning by the Boone County Commission on Tuesday.

D Who Land LLC had sought to rezone the property at 8100 E. Richland Road for what would have been known as the Five Pines Subdivision. It would have included up to 345 residential lots. It is currently zoned as farmland instead of intended single family residence.

The county’s planning and zoning commission previously unanimously denied rezoning. Despite adjustments to the plans, it has always been denied by the commission on appeal.

Concerns have been raised by the Planning and Zoning Commission, Boone County Commission members, and the public about the possibility of flooding, increased traffic, and road conditions.

After:Planned 55+ gated community in Legacy Farms subdivision off Sinclair Road

The City of Columbia’s Planning and Zoning Commission, at its August 18 meeting, will consider a similar development at 7101 E. Richland Road. Much like the county’s proposed development, it would have over 300 residential lots.

Although Richland Road serves as an arterial road, it was not built as such, said Janet Thompson, District II Commissioner representing North Boone County.

A vote on the county’s rezoning, revision plan and preliminary plan was tabled by the Boone County Commission at its June 28 meeting, while developers reworked the plans. The changes were not enough for the commission.

Over the past few years, the county and city of Columbia have redesigned roads and intersections to accommodate the increased traffic volume that would be expected once a new subdivision is in place, the presiding commissioner said. Dan Atwill. Thompson echoed this statement.

It would be better served to improve Richland Road, including at the intersections with Grace Lane and St. Charles Road, before a subdivision was approved, was part of the county commission’s consensus for denial.